Time travel

One week ago, on Tuesday morning, the most miraculous thing happened to me: I traveled back in time. For real.

I got a commercial shooting that came in last minute and had to get up early in the morning to fix my hair. I did what I almost never do: set the alarm…

It rang at 7:30 but I gave myself another 15 minutes to snooze. At 7:45, jumped out of bed, dyed my hair. It was 8:10 when I went in the shower and I had another 20 minutes to be ready with everything, at 8:30 I had to leave my place.

Well, with dry brushing before the shower and then rinsing my hair, it did take a bit longer…

When I was already in the tram stop, I looked at the clock of my phone: 8:54. Ouch! No way I would make it to 9am, in 6 minutes. Of course, I was preparing to call my coordinator to let her know and apologize for that I would be late with 15 minutes – I wouldn’t miss too much anyway, the first 15-20 minutes is normally the breakfast.

So I turned off my phone to turn it on again, to switch it from Flight Mode (that’s how I have it for the nights), to Normal Mode.

That’s when the magic happened.

My phone turned on now again, it sent me a notification of Time and Date Update: 8:16am

W-H-A-T???

I looked up to the church tower on the square, its clock said: 8:16.

The tram came, the digital clock inside said: 8:17.

Next stop I got off, and asked a boy who was standing there to tell me what time was it. 8:19.

By now I got really confused.

Down to the subway: 8:20.

Now it was too early for me…! With taking the subway, I would need to wait at the shooting location for half an hour, therefore I decided to walk instead. This is still a time of the day to experience Prague, without tourists.

Andrea Gerak: Prague without tourists - Old Town &emdash;
The only time you see fishing boats on the Vltava river in Prague is early morning

Still today, I can’t figure out what happened.

Is time real, or is it only an illusion that we make up?

Andrea Gerak: Prague without tourists - Old Town &emdash;
It’s almost nine o’clock

If you have a little more time now, please check out my friend Julien Matei’s blog: A dialogue about time and boredom

And if you have even more time: Julien is a great composer and pianist, and this is something we did together in Malmo, Sweden:

(We are still available to perform also together, if you are interested, please go to BOOKING)

Andrea GerakAndrea Gerák (also spelled as Gerak) is a Hungarian artist, mostly known as a singer. She is also photographing, dancing, writing, acting, modeling, and forever learning through her journey in the world, living out of a suitcase. Her attention turned to healthy living after a cancer surgery in 2008. Proud mom of a big boy.

View Full Profile →

One thought on “Time travel

Leave a Reply

